• <output id="yq2z6"></output>

        1. <output id="yq2z6"><option id="yq2z6"></option></output>

            <bdo id="yq2z6"><del id="yq2z6"><em id="yq2z6"></em></del></bdo>
          1. <output id="yq2z6"><option id="yq2z6"></option></output>

            Back to Top

            image descriptionInternational Association of Electrical Inspectors Annual Meeting


            On October 30 and 31, 2008, the International Association of Electrical Inspectors held their 38th Annual Meeting in Fayetteville, Arkansas at the Clarion Inn. Welcoming remarks were given by Mayor Dan Coody to the general membership. The Pledge of Allegiance was led by six year old Callie Wages. Their were approximately 75 members in attendance from all areas of the state. Attendees included electrical contractors, electrical engineers, utility representatives, municipal inspectors, electrical inspectors and others throughout the electrical industry. Several vendors were on hand to display their products and answer questions.

            The meeting covered the changes in the 2008 National Electric Code in regards to Grounding and Bonding. The instructor for this presentation was Mr. Richard Lloyd representing the Steel Tubing Institute. The eight hour presentation was held on Thursday covering the Soares Book on Grounding.

            Elections of officers took place during the Thursday session. The officers selected and confirmed by the membership included Springdale native Joseph Wages Jr. Mr. Wages was elected President for a second term. Mr. Wages also serves as the Education Chairman for the chapter. Other officers include Glenn Curry, Chapter Secretary/Treasurer, Danny King, Western Section Representative for the Arkansas Chapter, Lloyd Elliott, Electrical Contractor Representative, Mike Casey, Electrical Contractor Representative, Lloyd Lewallen, Chapter Vice President, David Gray, Chapter 2nd Vice President and Membership Chairman and Len Dawson representing the inspector members.

            The 1st Annual “Philip H. Cox Award of Excellence” was awarded to Mr. Lorin Fleming of Benton, Arkansas. Mr. Fleming was presented the award due to his long standing commitment and service to the organization. The award was named after Phil Cox a long time member of the organization. Mr. Cox has had a long and distinguished career in the electrical industry. He was instrumental in taking the organization from the Oklahoma/ Arkansas Chapter to the present Arkansas Chapter. Mr. Cox served as CEO and Executive Director of the IAEI in Richardson, Texas. He was a member of numerous NEC code-making panels as well as a NEMA field representative. He was appointed by Governor Clinton as the first chairman of the Arkansas Board of Electrical Examiners in 1979. He is a graduate of the University of Arkansas, where he earned a bachelor’s and master’s degree.

            On Friday, October 31, 2008, the membership heard from the code panel concerning electrical questions and answers. The panel consisted of Mr. Richard Lloyd representing the Steel Tube Industry, Mr. Ron Baker and Mr. Glenn Curry representing the Arkansas Department of Labor, Electrical Division, Mr. Jay Pense representing the City Of Fayetteville Inspection Department, Mr. Jerry Spense representing the City of Little Rock Inspection Division, Mr. Danny King representing the City of Fort Smith Inspection division and Joseph Wages Jr. representing the Siloam Springs Electric Department. This panel discussion is a favorite of the attending members and addresses serious electrical questions that arise throughout the State of Arkansas.